Conditions that Qualify for SSDI & SSI

The Social Security Administration provides the medical criteria used to evaluate whether you are disabled and are seeking Social Security Disability (SSD) or Supplemental Security Income  (SSI) benefits. The Listing of Impairments identifies medical conditions that are severe enough to prevent a person from doing any gainful activity. The categories of impairments include:

(1) Musculoskeletal disorders;

(2) Special Senses and Speech;

(3) Respiratory Disorders;

(4) Cardiovascular System;

(5) Digestive System;

(6) Genitourinary Disorders;

(7) Hematological Disorders;

(8) Skin Disorders;

(9) Endocrine Disorders;

(10) Congenital Disorders that Affect Multiple Body Systems;

(11) Neurological Disorders;

(12) Mental Disorders;

(13) Cancer; and

(14) Immune System Disorders.

If you satisfy the criteria in the listings, then the SSA should qualify you as disabled.

If your medical condition(s) is not in those listings, then the Social Security Administration must decide if your condition(s) is severe enough to qualify you as disabled. The Social Security Administration will evaluate the information you provide and your medical records when making its decision.

Have more questions about the process for applying for SSD or SSI? Give our office a call at (610) 446-3457 or click here to send us an email.