Conditions that Qualify for SSDI & SSI

The Social Security Administration provides the medical criteria used to evaluate whether you are disabled and are seeking Social Security Disability Income (SSD) or Supplemental Security Income  (SSI) benefits. The Listing of Impairments identifies medical conditions that are severe enough to prevent a person from doing any gainful activity. The categories of impairments include:

(1) Musculoskeletal disorders;

(2) Special Senses and Speech;

(3) Respiratory Disorders;

(4) Cardiovascular System;

(5) Digestive System;

(6) Genitourinary Disorders;

(7) Hematological Disorders;

(8) Skin Disorders;

(9) Endocrine Disorders;

(10) Congenital Disorders that Affect Multiple Body Systems;

(11) Neurological Disorders;

(12) Mental Disorders;

(13) Cancer; and

(14) Immune System Disorders.

If you satisfy the criteria in the listings, then the SSA should qualify you as disabled.

If your medical condition(s) is not in those listings, then the Social Security Administration must decide if your condition(s) is severe enough to qualify you as disabled. The Social Security Administration will evaluate the information you provide and your medical records when making its decision.

Still Have Questions? Get Answers and A Free Consultation.

Our firm welcomes people from the greater Philadelphia area, Southeastern Pennsylvania, and nearby areas. To arrange a free consultation with the Law Offices of Daniel J. Siegel, LLC to discuss Social Security Disability or Supplemental Security Income benefits, contact us at (610) 446-3457, click here to send us an email, or fill out the form below.